Infosys felicitates six researchers and scientists

Infosys Science Foundation (ISF) Monday awarded six researchers and scientists for their stellar contribution to science and research Monday here.

“This is an example of engineering excellence under constraints and challengesa I hope the younger generation will take note of their accomplishments and be inspired by their work and recognition,” Infosys’ founder N.R. Narayana Murthy told media persons.

Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, computer science and automation department chair Jayant Haritsa was awarded for his contributions in database systems and data mining in the engineering and computer sciences category while at New England-based Microsoft Research principal researcher Madhu Sudan received the award in mathematical sciences for contribution to probabilistically checkable proofs and error-correcting codes.

Increasing Diversity by Increasing Access founder and managing trustee Shamnad Basheer received the award for the analysis of a range of legal issues including pharmaceutical patent injuctions and enforcement in the humanities category. Tata Institute of Fundamental Research professor Shubha Tole was awarded in life sciences category for study on hippocampus and amygdala – the centres of learning and memory in the brain.

Infosys prize winners
Laureates – Infosys Prize 2014 (Image Credit: Infosys Science Foundation)

CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Technology chief scientist Srivari Chandrasekhar received the award in physical sciences category for contributions in the general area of synthetic organic chemistry and MIT economics professor Esther Duflo was awarded the prize for pioneering contribution in the field of development economics.

“The number of nominations received for the six categories have increased by over 60 percent since 2009. This year’s winners were selected from a pool of 219 nominations by a panel of experts and academicians,” ISF said.

READ  One-size-fits-all approach to child custody dangerous for mum, child

In a span of six years, ISF has recognised 38 researchers and scientists.

“I am confident that their achievement will inspire our youth to dedicate themselves to the service of science and society,” President of India Pranab Mukherjee said in a video recording.

The winners each received USD 100,000, a gold medal and citation certificate from ISF.

more recommended stories