Three share Nobel prize for medicine

Three scientists shared the 2011 Nobel Prize for Medicine announced here Monday.

Bruce A. Beutler and Jules A. Hoffmann were honoured “for their discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity” and Ralph M. Steinman “for his discovery of the dendritic cell and its role in adaptive immunity,” the Nobel Committee at the Swedish Karolinska Institute said, Xinhua reported.

more recommended stories